CD Reviews

Rebellious Spirit - 'New Horizons' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
688   0   1   0   0   0




If they can keep up the momentum, they'll be playing their arena-ready Rock in an arena near you very soon.

You're a teenager. You've released two Glam-Rock-inspired Hair-Metal-friendly albums and you've toured with legends like W.A.S.P. All of a sudden you drop off the face of the earth. What happens? You explode out of the gate of the black hole in which engulfed you to discover brand new horizons, or so German quartet Rebellious Spirit have so done with their third studio outing, the first in four years, on the aptly-titled 'New Horizons'.

As if your senses were awakening for the very first time, waves of sound, colour, smell, taste and touch hit you effortlessly; with '...Horizons', from the moment it begins with its atmospheric 'Intro' which then explodes into the machine-gun riff-and-drum express that is 'Devil In Me', it is clear this is a new breed of beast.

Stripping themselves of that Glam Rock style and trading it in for arena-ready Alternative Rock, a sound that's bolstered by Avenged Sevenfold-aping Heavy Metal and Alter Bridge-ripping choruses alongside a penchant for Classic Rock deep within, '...Horizons' is characterised from start to finish by its catatonically catastrophic riffs which crunch against synth-weaved orchestral movements ('Enemy') and loop under groove-riddled funks ('Fuck'). As each track weaves its way through mammoth-sized sounds that should be sent straight to the radios, you begin to forget Rebellious Spirit's youth and begin to believe they've been making albums like this for years; seasoned veterans if you wish.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Whilst the majority of the album feels somewhat formulaic – big riffs, big choruses, powerful vocals – it's the moments where they stray away from their core sound that the album dips in quality, as if they've waded a little too far out into their new horizons for where they're currently at. 'Give It A Try' sets off a ripple of keys and a showcase of vocalist Jannik Fischer's powerhouse vocals, yet erupts into a simplistic burst of nothing, a weak comedown from its predecessor 'The Core' – a song which sounds as if they're playing with machine guns in place of guitars, as synths slide around underneath as harsh vocals growl overhead like a beast in predator mode.

This is a ginormous record with lofty ambitions, and if they can keep up the momentum that they've packed into 'New Horizons' thirteen songs, they'll be playing their arena-ready Rock in an arena near you very soon.

Jack Press

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 hours, 20 minutes ago
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us