CD Reviews

Kill For Eden - 'Petty Crimes' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
489   0   1   0   0   0





It's a pleasure to hear D'Souza sing again as she is a trump card for the group.

When I received Kill For Eden's first album way back in 2012, I rated it as one of the best debut records I'd had the pleasure of reviewing and they were on track to be my favourite new band. They had a collection of great songs and in Lyla D'Souza they were blessed with a phenomenal vocalist who was as effective on Hard Rock tracks as she was on soaring ballads.

After releasing an EP with two additional new songs, the long awaiting second album has finally arrived. Retaining the core of D'Souza and guitarist David Garfield Bown, who wrote all the material on the first record together, they are joined by newcomers Julian Palmer on bass and drummer Wally Miroshnikov.

'Burn Out' pretty much picks up where the debut left off with a strong riff and D'Souza's powerful voice carrying the memorable hook. I felt it was much better than the single 'Woke Up Alone' which really did nothing for me at all. 'Army Of Ants' repairs the damage with a great guitar line and an equally great chorus, before the other single 'Love You So' pops up. This one has a breezier, Pop-focused influence (which is okay) that's combined with a commercial vibe, however I much prefer the down-tuned and hard hitting compositions like 'Give In To Me' or 'Toe The Line'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Pay The Piper' showcases another side to D'Souza's singing, and she shares the vocal duties with ex-Rainbow front-man Doogie White on the infectious 'Halley's Comet'. 'Sticks Man' grows on you, while the acoustic outing 'Brave New World' and the lilting 'Ocean Breeze' are both decent, but a far cry from the amazing power ballad 'Fate Insists' which featured on the debut. The band round things off with a heavy and well executed cover of Republica's 'Ready To Go'.

'Petty Crimes' definitely took longer to sink in than its predecessor. After my initial doubts, it's much more thumbs up than down. Apart from the couple of tracks I've mentioned not gelling with my taste, everything else is welcome, and it's a pleasure to hear D'Souza sing again as she is a trump card for the group. They shot themselves in the foot with such a brilliant debut as it was always going to be a massive task to follow it, but this isn't far off the mark at all. Welcome back guys and gal!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us