CD Reviews

Retrospective - 'Re:Search' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
417   0   1   0   0   0




A textbook combination of both clout and refinement.

Nine tracks from the Prog Metal sextet from Poland, a nation that buys into Prog with a passion and Rock music in general, and whose national treasures Riverside have set a trailblazing path of innovative quality. Retrospective themselves are no strangers to Progressive concepts, their 2008 debut 'Stolen Thoughts' exploring the loss of innocence that accompanies the journey from childhood. This follow-up to 2012's 'Lost Perceptions' finds the band in philosophical mood, 'Re:Search' investigating lyrical ideas of living in the rat race, exploring relationships and the trials and tribulations of life's journeys. This weighty subject matter is accompanied by a heavy yet melodic musical assortment.

First impressions are of grand heroic Iron Maiden stylings with a vocal that crosses between both Bruce Dickinson and Blaze Bayley, yet it's the backing and occasional upfront vocals from Beata Lagoda that add both a pleasant contrast and variation from the ever increasingly popular front-woman model. Their first appearance comes halfway through 'Right Way' which is suitably epic, a beguiling guitar figure accompanying the two voice combination – probably the "sit up and pay attention" moment as something special starts to emerge from 'Re:Search'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'The End Of Their World' sees some evidence of a Pearl Jam influence where the faintest dose of that distinctive funky guitar ghosts in and out, and there's a chance to start to appreciate the familiar sound of those bouncy bass lines. On the other side of the coin, 'Heaven Is Here' sees the band following a more mainstream side, whilst 'Look In The Mirror' finds them working a steady mid-paced groove. Yes, there may be elements of Progressive icons, such as King Crimson in the techniques and Tool in the atmospheres, but all provide a small part of the 'Re:Search' blueprint.

The brooding opening to 'The Wisest Man On Earth' builds to a decisive Steven Wilson/Porcupine Tree-ish clean yet harsh guitar riff before it develops into a typically outstanding album closer. It's a thumbs up for the track sequencing which is one of those that builds to a big finish, rather than one where the feeling of initial excitement leads ultimately to a loss of momentum. Far from it in fact; with 'Re:Search', Retrospective have been able to craft and refine an album which is based on dramatic atmosphere, including moments of exhilaration and instrumental prowess without it ever being indulgent. A textbook combination of both clout and refinement.

Mike Ainscoe

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us