CD Reviews

Sammy Hagar - 'This Is Sammy Hagar: When The Party Started Volume 1' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
561   0   1   0   0   0

Trust him, you'll enjoy it.

You can't just do one thing if you've been an old-school Rocker and you want to be a new-school Rocker. You have to diversify, make a change, do the Twitter, take pictures of your food for Instagram or something like that. Sammy Hagar knows this, he's an entrepreneur, a successful CEO, a commercial Rock icon and a fun bloke. All these work for him; his rum business, making Van Halen into Van Hagar (a sales juggernaut) and having a good time with mates in Chickenfoot and releasing work that sounds like he feels.

This is about number, the work he admits some don't like, some don't buy and you suspect about which he doesn't much care. The money is in, the sales are there with Chickenfoot, this means he can stretch out in his work with the likes of The Waboritas... and he does. Never one to stand still, what we have here is a compilation of his work with The Wabos covering the four album period between 1999 and 2006 (and therefore obviously not including anything from his earlier works, such as solo material from the seventies – personally I've always liked 'Nine On A Ten Scale'). On this fourteen track retrospective you have the likes of the hollering hoo-ha of 'Serious Juju', the breezy bop provided by 'Ten 13', the Hawaiian sounding short instrumental 'Maui Wowie' and the naughty, horny brass of 'Shag (Outtake Mix)'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

With all the activity he manages, his solo work can be crowded out and in truth there's nothing to place this at the forefront of his work, but it is fun to be with. This collection also includes two unreleased songs to tickle you; 'No Worries' being a rolling thing with a Gospelly middle, and 'Never Said Goodbye' a softly shimmering acoustic ballad which includes some Procol Harum-like organ. Neither is essential but both are quite diverting.

Sammy Hagar is his own man. This is his own music. The party may be starting and you might get an invite, but he will choose the entertainment. Trust him, you'll enjoy it.

Steve Swift

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 2 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us