Jack L. Stroem - 'Jack L. Stroem' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/a4/71/2c/Jack-L-Stroem-Jack-L-Stroem-83-1506102554.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1023   0   1   0   0   0





While it avoids too much modern studio trickery which is a plus, it also comes across as pretty basic.

This Swedish guitarist and singer melds Classic Metal with Prog and Modern/Alternative Rock on this, his self-titled debut.

Jack L. Stroem doesn't stand still as a guitarist; he has a Spacey, Prog sound on the loose shifting groove of 'You're All That I Want', a heavier approach is taken on the riff-filled 'Unfold My Soul', while 'We're A Lie' has a spiky guitar style that has a Punky, Power Pop feel. There's a dramatic bombast to much of the music, in particular the album closer 'Turn Away'.

One influence that is clear is Muse. This is mostly due to Stroem's vocals which possess that high reedy quality that Matt Bellamy favours, as evidenced on the chugging 'Fearmonger' and 'Inside'. The latter has atmospheric keyboard and a big mid-song key change that makes it one of the standouts.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

He's backed by session musicians that add colour, but at its heart you know this is a single man's vision. If this were just an instrumental guitar album, then it demonstrates Jack L. Stroem has plenty of talent. However, his vocals are not only weaker, thus bringing the material down at times, but they are also quite heavily accented in places. The high-pitched Muse-like approach is actually okay if you are partial to that, but elsewhere his singing can be cumbersome.

He made the album in the USA with producer Charles Normal, and while it avoids too much modern studio trickery which is a plus, it also comes across as pretty basic. There are just seven tracks on this release, and despite there being a lot of variety within those songs, at thirty-five minutes it feels one or two short.

A steady band around him and some work on the vocals are what's needed if he's to find a suitable label to get behind him and thus make a name for himself in modern Prog Rock circles.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 hours, 17 minutes ago
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us