CD Reviews

Status Quo - 'The Vinyl Singles Collection 1980-1984' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2017    
0.0 (0)
896   0   1   0   0   0






The hefty price tag on these sets may make them a purchase for dedicated fans only, but those that do take the plunge won't be disappointed.

Picking up from the 1980 single 'What You're Proposing' and running through to the 1984 release 'Going Down Town Tonight', this twelve disc 7" singles box-set is the second in a limited series of five – part one, covering 1970 to 1979, being released earlier in the year. Housed in a beautiful box and with a booklet featuring quotes, history and images of the singles, including some rare foreign sleeves, each of the heavyweight vinyls come in either the original art, or "house label" sleeve they were released in.

Unlike the band's earlier years, exclusive B-sides were harder to come by for Quo fans during the eighties, only the flip tracks of '...Proposing' and 'Jealousy' – which wasn't actually released as a single in the UK – graced with non-album cuts. The first of the two has the languid instrumental, 'A B Blues', offering up not too much real excitement, while the latter finds 'Calling The Shots' following the guitar/keyboard tussle for supremacy that the band's music was based around at the time. It's a decent song, but equally it's easy to hear why it didn't make the '1+9+8+2' album the A-side comes from. Also featured here are the versions of 'Caroline', backed by 'Dirty Water', that were recorded 'Live At The NEC' and released on the 1981 album of that name. It's a cracking run through of a genuinely classic song, while '...Water' also stands up extremely well in this setting.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

In terms of albums, this era of Quo is seen by some as a dip in form, yet as far as their singles were concerned, the band were still as strong as ever, only 'She Don't Fool Me', also from '1+9+8+2', not breaking into the Top Twenty. In fact, with 'Lies', 'Something 'Bout You Baby I Like', 'Dear John', 'Ol' Rag Blues' and 'Mess Of The Blues' all included here, you could argue they'd never been stronger. Add in the live tracks, cult hit 'Marguerita Time' and seductive 'Rock 'n' Roll' and the class is evident throughout.

There's no denying that having the chance to own the complete singles discography in brand spanking new versions of the format they were originally released in, is a thoroughly tempting prospect. The hefty price tag on these sets may make them a purchase for dedicated fans only, but those that do take the plunge won't be disappointed.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 12 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us