Anathema / Alcest Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 02, 2017    
0.0 (0)
609   0   1   0   0   0



Anathema / Alcest - The Garage, Glasgow (UK) - 22 September 2017

This is my first live review for Rocktopia and what a gig to start with. French support band Alsace went down well with the sold out Garage audience, but to be honest they were not to my taste. Musically they were sound but many songs had liberal amounts of growling vocals which I really struggle with.

Technical issues prevented Anathema from hitting the stage at the designated time, but after around twenty minutes the band eventually arrived to the sounds of 'San Francisco' from new album 'The Optimist' and a very enthusiastic welcome from the Glasgow crowd. The downside to the delay was that the venue has a ten o'clock curfew which meant that they had to drop a couple of songs from their set-list. The band made light of their initial sound problems and constantly engaged the audience in light hearted banter throughout the gig. They also used a screen at the rear of the stage on which moving and still images were projected which complimented the music perfectly. Also noticeable were the interchanges between John Douglas (who began on percussion) and keyboard player Daniel Cardoso (who started on drums) before they reverted to norm after a few numbers.

The songs themselves featured a good mix of older material alongside tracks from the new album which were received extremely well. 'Untouchable Parts 1 & 2' kicked things off with aplomb and the songs were welcomed like long lost friends. We then were treated to 'Leaving It Behind', 'Endless Ways', 'Thin Air', 'Dreaming Light', 'Can't Let Go' and then my favourite on the night, 'The Beginning And The End' from 'Weather Systems', which was majestic. It was great to hear the new material live for the first time and the band received a huge cheer when Danny Cavanagh announced that 'The Optimist' was recorded in Glasgow. They then finished with 'Closer', which although not my favourite song, was performed very energetically.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

They returned to the stage for three encores. 'Distant Satellites' from the album of the same name was up first. The song soared from start to finish and reached its climax when Vincent Cavanagh joined Douglas and Cardoso on percussion. This was an utterly stunning performance. 'Springfield' followed and the night was rounded off with old favourite 'Fragile Dreams' which was preceded by Danny Cavanagh playing the guitar intro from 'Wish You Were Here'.

A major factor in Anathema's appeal is the balance between Vincent Cavanagh's and Lee Douglas's vocals. Lee Douglas is used more often these days and her voice lifts the band's music to another level. Both lead vocalists were on top form tonight.

It was a wonderful evening in the presence of a wonderful band and I am so lucky to be going to Prague to see them again later in October. The night summed up perfectly by Danny Cavanagh in his adopted Glaswegian accent, "That was pure brilliant, by the way".

Robin McGhie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by