Newman - 'Aerial'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
178   0   1   0   0   0







Long live AOR!

Newman returns with 'Aerial', their eleventh studio outing and if past releases are anything to go by, the material found here will be full of AOR goodness!
Literally launching like a jet fighter into the first track, 'Fear Of Flying', Steve Newman's mastery of lyric writing is in full effect and is perfectly delivered in true style. The driving rhythm of 'Don't Wake The Lion' and Steve Newman's vocal blended with his trademark big choruses makes this track an instant winner – turn up the car radio for this one! Drums and keys are pulled to the forefront for 'Can't Stop Loving You', the guitar riffs are less frequent but when they kick in, their power, clarity and presence add another dimension to an already great song.

'Life To Remember' could easily have been found on a Vega album and goes to show that a pro like Steve Newman can beat the newcomers at their own game! Elsewhere, parts of 'High Tonight (Aerial)' carry a drum beat to make Adam Ant proud whilst the track ebbs and flows with synth padding, glorious guitar solos and, of course, a sing-along chorus.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Steve Newman is in a select club whose membership is restricted to singer/song-writers with a powerful velvet-toned voice and a love of AOR. FM's Steve Overland would be another member; both are under-rated but whatever project they are involved in, they throw their hearts into and seem to have the golden touch.

'Two Sides' has a split personality – on one side it's a hard-edged Rocker, and on the other, it's a silky, dreamy ballad, but both sides of this coin mean this track is minted in Hard Rock heaven! Slowing things down is 'I Am Your Man' but it's still full of big choruses and fluid guitar licks aplenty. When the first few notes of 'Nothing Left' ring out, it's apparent that this is going to be another class-filled Newman anthem and it doesn't disappoint with more classic Newman textures and riffery.

To deliver an album without a single weak track is a feat in itself, but to be on your eleventh release and still putting out such high-quality material defies belief. Steve Newman hasn't attempted to change what is obviously a good formula for him, but going off piste for his subject matter has kept the songs sounding fresh and retaining interest. Long live AOR!

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us