Revolution Saints - 'Light In The Dark' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
251   0   1   0   0   0



Where it is good, it's very good.

"Here we go again", that was my initial thought – and undoubtedly one shared by other genre observers – "yet another "project" band", when the formation of Revolution Saints was announced prior to their eponymous debut's early 2015 release. Yet the amalgamation of Jack Blades (Night Ranger) as bassist/secondary vocalist, Doug Aldrich (fresh out of Whitesnake) on guitar and then-Journey drummer Deen Castronovo resulted in an unexpected alchemy with one truly standout element...

Phil Collins, Roger Taylor, Dave Grohl, all members of that rarefied musical club of singing drummers. Add Castronovo to that list, and what a voice! Super-soulful and rich – imagine a blend of Steve Perry and Richie Kotzen. Yet in June 2015, any momentum that the Saints had gathered was arguably derailed by Castronovo's well-documented arrest and dismissal from Journey. Fast forward two years and he is clean, contrite and refreshingly candid in apportioning the blame for his conduct solely at his own door. Unsurprisingly, his travails form the lyrical basis for 'Light In The Dark', in particular the theme of redemption. The title track is easily the best Rocker here and makes the perfect companion to the similarly dynamic 'Turn Back Time' (from the 2015 debut) – if you're already a Saints fan then this number will thrill you... guaranteed.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

One criticism of their first album is that it was too ballad heavy, that's not the case here with just a pair of quality tracks that fit that term. The piano-driven 'I Wouldn't Change A Thing' merits its six-minute plus duration and showcases Castronovo's lovely voice at its best – the sum of his experiences lending a melancholy texture to his exquisite delivery – while happily Aldrich dials back his guitar heroics here in the interest of the song. On 'Can't Run Away From Love', the second ballad, Castronovo continues his soul-baring, while 'Falling Apart', the album's closer, sports a mid-tempo Pop vibe that made so many Journey anthems radio staples.

Alessandro Del Vecchio, Frontier's man of keys and producer, really deserves credit as the fourth Saint as his playing is prominent throughout, particularly on the likes of the moody 'Freedom'. Negatives? Sigh, it's an industry issue to be honest, but if new releases were limited to half a dozen tracks then we'd be spared forgettable fillers like 'Don't Surrender' and 'Another Chance'. However, where it is good though, it's very good! Welcome back Revolution Saints, Castronovo especially...

Caesar Barton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us