Styx - 'The Mission' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
268   0   1   0   0   0






A very welcome return from these Pomp legends.

To be brutally honest, I fucking hated this album when I first heard it! Expectation is a double-edged sword; it leaves you waiting with bated breath for something to come out, and when it does, it can either joyously meet them or utterly disappoint. After five play throughs, my opinion hadn't changed much, but listening to it a further fifteen or so times (yes twenty in total – there's dedication for you), changed my mind completely. I still think there are a couple of clunkers (thanks, Phil Ashcroft for this description) but the bulk of this new material is pretty much a Pomp Rock fans wet dream.

'The Mission', a concept album, is a bold move for a band to make their studio comeback with. It deals with a mission to Mars and beyond, with Tommy Shaw, James "JY" Young and Lawrence Gowan taking the vocal parts of various astronauts to tell the story. Gowan has been let loose on this album and it's his keyboards that Pomp everything to the Nth degree, whilst the guitars of Young and Shaw are as dynamic and melodic throughout the fourteen tracks as they ever were. It's also wonderful to note that none of the Styx singers have lost their vocal prowess over the years, and their wonderful voices are used to great effect during the entirety of 'The Mission'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The opening few songs 'Gone, Gone Gone', 'Hundred Million Miles From Home', 'Trouble At The Big Show' and 'Locomotive' are all classic Pomp cuts that you can revel in, and the classy sounding production from Will Evankovich (who also co-wrote the story and most of the songs) only enhances them. We then come to my own personal favourites which are 'Radio Silence' where Shaw is given the opportunity to really show off, the awesome 'The Greater Good' with Gowan putting in a killer emotion-filled vocal performance and the Heavy Rocking 'Red Storm'.

Why this album didn't click at first is a mystery, or maybe it's because 'The Mission' is a Sci-Fi concept album with a story that's been done to death over the years; as a huge fan of old, I just wanted some new songs without all that story stuff tagged on. For whatever reason, this album is my most played of 2017, and while I have heard better this year, this is still a very welcome return from these Pomp legends.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us