Wayward Sons - 'Ghosts Of Yet To Come' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/9f/f6/b9/wayward-sons-ghosts-of-yet-to-come-1-1512681233.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
319   0   1   0   0   0



One of the most energizing albums of the year.

Back in the day (oh shit – Gramps is on one again) one name you could trust for a live gig was Little Angels. Loud, proud and full of testosterone and cool riffs, they just worked. Part of the winning formula was front-man Toby Jepson, who would own the stage whilst balancing powerful melody and ear-splitting screams. Yeah, we had fun with Little Angels, and I have to say I've been looking forward to this debut release from Jepson's new band, mainly because advance tracks have grabbed that old spirit by the balls. The only worry was would they be able to maintain it through a whole album.

The good news is that Wayward Sons nail the quality issue with no doubts at all. The album has a lean ten tracks to it, and whilst they may not all be perfect, it's class all the way with big, guitar-led anthems all bolstered by Jepson's vocals. I must add that it's terrific to hear him sounding so good. His voice has changed a bit over the years (naturally), but it's still Jepson.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There's even a few of the old screams scattered about, starting on the lead single and opening track 'Alive'. I'm guessing that if you've heard this track you'll be salivating for the album, and to be honest, it is a perfect introduction to the band. There are no ballads here, just ten upbeat, fist-in-the-air and dance-like-a-twat Rockers that meld melody with Metal. These are the sort of songs that will send live audiences mental, and I just love the sheer energy that is contained throughout.

Jepson has always had a good ear for a great song, and with Wayward Sons, he's surrounded himself with bandmates that know their way around their instruments, with special praise going to Sam Wood for his sweet riffs and solos. We're used to Frontiers throwing silky smooth AOR projects at us all day long, but this talented British band have snuck in to show people how balls-out Melodic Rock can still make you sit up and drool. If this is the ghost of what's to come, then what's to come is going melt our brains. No frills and no fucking about, 'Ghosts Of Yet To Come' is one of the most energizing albums of the year so far... so go and get it.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us