H.E.A.T - 'Into The Great Unknown' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/b4/52/42/heat-into-the-great-unknown-73-1512681419.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
338   0   1   0   0   0





Album. Of. The. Year.

In just nine years, Swedish superstars H.e.a.t have developed from the new kids on the Melodic Rock block to become the undisputed forerunners of the genre. With a reputation for amazing live performances, let alone their uncanny ability to write a quite brilliant song, the reverence in which H.e.a.t are held is richly deserved; the growth in maturity since Erik Grönwall joined the ranks setting impossibly high standards with each subsequent album that they themselves seem to have no problems in exceeding.
The prophetically titled 'Into The Great Unknown' once again is a journey of exploration into just how H.e.a.t can elevate their status and advance their style, all without sacrificing the elements of what endeared them to us in the first place. It's very much the H.e.a.t we've come to know and love, but with a few additional tweaks to keep it fresh and exciting.

Continuing in the somewhat tougher and edgier vein of 'Tearing Down The Walls', the seamless transition of returning guitarist Dave Dalone replacing the departed Eric Rivers going virtually unnoticed in that respect, it's unquestionably not as instant as its predecessors, the keyboards of Jona Tee take centre stage with some unexpected programming techniques.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Rabble-rousing opener 'Bastard Of Society', the Arena Rock of 'Shit City', 'Blind Leads The Blind' and 'Best Of The Broken' are classic H.e.a.t (i.e. immense melodies and soaring choruses that will kill in a live situation), whereas 'Time On Our Side', 'Do You Want It?' and the very classy 'Redefined' are adorned with electronic effects that add a Modern Rock element without sacrificing their Hard Rock credentials. The epic title track that closes out proceedings in dramatic fashion is the finest example of the burgeoning maturity in their writing abilities.

Credit too must go to Grönwall, regardless of his frenetic, exuberant stage persona, he possesses an almighty voice with a stunning range that is well and truly exhibited on the intense, wonderfully arranged ballad 'Eye Of The Storm' and the amazing 'We Rule', the latter highly reminiscent of Queen at their most dynamic and bombastic.
'Into The Great Unknown' will undoubtedly polarise opinions due to the changes in direction, but I absolutely love it, and therefore applaud H.e.a.t for having the determination to push the envelope. It will be fascinating to see where they will go from here. Album. Of. The. Year.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us