Cats In Space - 'Scarecrow' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
391   0   1   0   0   0





It can be difficult for bands to follow-up on successful debuts, however, Cats In Space have surpassed it easily with the release of 'Scarecrow'.

'Scarecrow' is the follow-up to the Cats In Space's highly acclaimed debut 'Too Many Gods' which was released in 2015, an album that thoroughly impressed with its song-writing, melodies and hooks. The only criticism I had with the debut was that the tracks were a bit too polite/polished and might have been improved further still with a bit more bite.

I caught the band on the support slot of the Thunder tour and they were immense live, complete with that extra edge that was missing from the studio work. The song 'Mad Hatter's Tea Party' was debuted as part of that set and was a great indicator of things to come.

This sophomore release contains ten tracks which are again heavily influenced by the seventies Prog/Glam/AOR era with a current modern sound. There are two six minutes plus (epic) tracks, the opener, 'Jupiter Calling', sort of reminded me of bands like Yes and Styx – a gentle keyboard introduction before breaking into the main song with a nice twin guitar riff and good vocal hook as well as some fine guitar solo bursts – and the other is the closer and title track which clocks in at over seven minutes. Here, a gentle keyboard introduction develops into an up-tempo gallop with lots of twists and turns along the way, similar in some ways to Peter Gabriel era Genesis.
The previously mentioned '...Party' is an up-tempo romp with quirky lyrics and a great hook, whilst 'Clown In Your Nightmare' is a nod to a Steven King type Horror story, opening with an eerie Horror film type keyboard intro that leads into a funky style song.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The rest of the album includes the slow ballad 'Scars', the mid-paced ELO type Rocker 'September Rain', 'Broken Wing' which is a Rocker with a very Brian May guitar vibe, the tongue-in-cheek dig at DJs that is 'Two Fifty Nine', a nod to sixties Surf music in 'Felix & The Golden Sun' and another mid-paced Rocker called 'Timebomb'.

It can be difficult for bands to follow-up on successful debuts, however, Cats In Space have surpassed it easily with the release of 'Scarecrow'. It's an album for fans of music with a seventies vibe and lots of harmonies and melodies with particular highlights being 'Scarecrow', '...Nightmare' and '...Wing'.

Chris Mee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us