Black Country Communion - 'BCCIV' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 07, 2017    
0.0 (0)
374   0   1   0   0   0







Black Country Communion haven't raised the bar for this sort of music... they are the bar.

Comprising of Glenn Hughes, guitarist Joe Bonamassa, Jason Bonham on drums and keyboard player Derek Sherinian, with producer Kevin Shirley overseeing everything, Black Country Communion attracted the super-group tag when they released their debut album in 2010. It charted highly in the UK, with 'II' coming just nine months later to tie in with their European tour. In 2012 'Afterglow' made its appearance but cracks were starting to show, as Bonamassa's involvement was limited, with Hughes picking up the slack and writing the bulk of the album and handling the promo for it himself.

Shortly after that, a solitary date was announced, being cancelled shortly after, and the band fizzled out, with Bonamassa returning to his packed solo schedule, while Hughes formed a new band, California Breed, taking Bonham with him. The good news is Bonamassa reached out to Hughes shortly after the singer was inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame and proposed a fourth effort. Hughes agreed and Bonamassa stayed at Hughes' home for eleven days, contributing heavily to the writing.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

That decision has paid dividends because, for me, this is the band's most well-rounded release yet. Opening with the powerful 'Collide', with Led Zeppelin-like keyboards and a killer riff, everything just clicks into place. 'Over My Head' has the same commercial appeal as 'One Last Soul', while Bonamassa weighs in with the truly brilliant 'The Last Song For My Resting Place', written about Wallace Hartley who continued to play his violin as the Titanic sank; the mandolin intro and Bonamassa's haunting vocal are magnificent, as is Shirley's decision to have a real fiddler play before the monstrous Rock middle-section explodes.

'Sway' is classic Black Country Communion and Hughes' 'The Cove' carries a dark and foreboding vibe. Sherinian's piano work on 'Wanderlust' is a joy, whereas 'The Crow' has a break where Hughes riffs on the bass, followed by Sherinian's Deep Purple-like Hammond Organ flurry meeting a blistering guitar solo from Bonamassa – it's a real example of what a great Rock band this is.

While most people rated the first album as their best, I thought they got progressively better, and 'BCCIV' continues that trend. The balance between Hughes and Bonamassa's input is perfect, creating the sort of Classic Rock few bands are capable of nowadays – Black Country Communion haven't raised the bar for this sort of music... they are the bar!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us