Concert Reviews

Nothing More Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1613   0   1   0   0   0

Nothing More - Sound Control, Manchester (UK) - 10 December 2017

It was possibly the coldest night of the year so far in Manchester. Nothing More were playing the last of their four UK shows, ahead of trip to Belgium two days later. Sound Control is a compact little venue (similar in many ways to the Academy 3 room in Manchester) with a clear sound and the good attendance created a cosy atmosphere, meaning the cold was forgotten for a few hours at least.

The recent 'The Stories We Tell Ourselves' release has received some excellent reviews, in the process seeing Nothing More score Grammy nods with three 2018 nominations. With that in mind the band were keen to showcase a good selection of its songs during the seventy-five minute fifteen song set. Though they have been around for a while, it is the last two albums that have raised their profile and brought them to the attention of many looking for a musical fix with a difference. The Nothing More musical style is quite unique. It is highly percussive and the song structures are less than generic and ultimately quite challenging. Having said that, the hooks and melodies at the core of each song are intensely satisfying, high impact and very memorable.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The first few songs played are all in-your-face, up-tempo and high energy, namely 'Christ Copyright', 'Let 'Em Burn', 'Mr. MTV' and 'Don't Stop'. The next portion of the show saw three people play one bass guitar at the same time and this has become something of a Nothing More trademark. It was a very visual concept and the only way to fully appreciate its intricacies is to track down some YouTube footage or actually go to a live show. Lead singer Jonny Hawkins is a Tasmanian Devil of a front-man who covered as much of the stage as possible with no apparent dip in vocal quality. He was a bare-chested focal point who demanded nothing but complete focus from the crowd. 'Go To War' (featured in the 'War For The Planet Of The Apes' movie) was about as commercial as Nothing More get, but the emotion drenched acoustic delivery of 'Just Say When' that followed is not far behind. Guitarist Mark Vollelunga and bassist Daniel Oliver, accompanied by drummer Ben Anderson, laid down a musical bedrock without any fuss or ego massaging eccentrics and the sound was enhanced and complimented by some atmospheric backing tapes.

When the set came to a close with 'Burn The Witch' (Nothing More do not do encores) it was with a bang and not a whimper. We were treated to a mini drum extravaganza (another Nothing More trademark) that highlighted the musical skills of the four protagonists on stage and emphasised just how something so technical can be performed with apparent ease. Train cancellations (due to the weather I'm guessing) proved to be an irritating end to the night, but could not overshadow the enjoyment of what had gone before. Nothing More have promised to return during the Summer of 2018 so maybe next time the temperature will be as warm outside the venue as inside – I can't wait.

Dave Bott


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!
  • Berny : Check out the new video by Mass: 'When 2 Worlds Collide' ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : We prouldy present the new music video by American Tears! Check out our News Section ... «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site