Threshold - 'Legends Of The Shires'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 29, 2017    
0.0 (0)
158   0   1   0   0   0





Anyone who likes Dream Theater, Devin Townsend and the like will really enjoy this.

It's three years since their last album, 'For The Journey', and things have changed in the Threshold camp. It would appear that vocalist Damian Wilson has left "abruptly", something it appears he tends to do on a somewhat regular basis. Apparently, it was just before they started recording the album, so what did they do at the end of Wilson's third term with the band? For a replacement and new vocalist, they turned to their old vocalist (again) in Glynn Morgan who was last with the band in 1994 for 'Psychedelicatessen'. This must have been a little daunting for him as they didn't just drop a concept album in his lap, but a double album to boot. To be honest, I will admit that when I initially saw the title for this, the first thing that came into my head was "Hobbits". However, the album isn't about hobbits at all, it's actually about a nation trying to find its place in the World or it could be a person in the same situation. For those that don't always have time to read complete reviews, in short, I will say that this has Threshold printed right through it – quality music, quality song-writing and quality performances.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The album manages to strike that balance between divine melody and pounding Metal with ease, something that only the biggest stars of the genre do. A good example of this is the melodic, piano-led opener, 'The Shire (Part 1)', and first track on the second disc, 'The Shire (Part 2)', which reprises the first part but takes it so much further in a grandiose way. 'The Man Who Saw Through Time' is just under twelve minutes long and always moving so it feels nothing like that amount of time. There are Techno sounds in 'Small Dark Lines' and hints of Dream Theater in 'Snowblind'. 'Lost In Translation' is what Prog music was invented for; it has touches of David Gilmour and Genesis, particularly with the Mike Rutherford style bass and Tony Banks sounding keyboard. There is also some re-use of choruses; when you listen to the album, musically this can make you think "I've heard this before somewhere", but it can take a while to work out it was only around twenty minutes ago. A good example of this is 'The Shire (Part 2)' and 'Superior Machine'.

This is a Threshold album through and through and one that I feel it is better than their last. Anyone who likes Dream Theater, Devin Townsend and the like will really enjoy this.

Andy Brailsford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us