CD Reviews

Quadrus - 'Entropia' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
261   0   1   0   0   0






The Symphonic nature will appeal to all of those who like that style and many fans will find a lot to love about this epic.

This independent Greek project was started by John Galanakis in Athens in the summer of 2014 when he decided on a concept album that became 'Entropia' (loosely translated from Greek as 'Transformation'). The name of the project, "Quadrus", translates from Latin as "Hewn Stone".

Galanakis recruited Nikitas Mandolas (Bionic Origin/W.E.B.) on drums, Jon Soti (Floating Worlds, ex-Secret Illusion/Crusade Of Steel/Fallen Arise) on male vocals/growls, Alexandra Misailidou (who wrote the female lyrical parts and sang female vocals), Marios Konnaris on lead guitars (who also contributed some lyrics) and John Sotirakis on bass, while he himself handled all the song-writing, some lyrics, orchestration and rhythm guitar.

Galanakis also enlisted the help of Mandolas' Bionic Origin bandmate George Constantine Kratsas on guitars for 'The Alpha Origin' and Enemy Of Reality/Meden Agan Soprano Iliana Tsakiraki on 'Sense Of Matter'.

Obviously, this is another very ambitious project but the timescale has allowed Galanakis to take his time and get everything right to his satisfaction. 'Entropia' is a concept album that narrates the story of mankind and the endless circle of human interdependence with the universe! How it all began? How we fell? How we turned our positive vibes into dark matter against our own self? How our own hatred became one with us and slowly rotted us from the inside? What is the meaning of life? Is there any way for redemption? For those seeking these answers, Galanakis has woven the stories into this opus and left it to the individual listener to interpret them based on their own knowledge of the world.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

All the various pieces are linked together, including the instrumental interlude 'Alternative Hypothesis', as they are awash with huge orchestration, cinematic landscapes, Progressive patterns and male and female Operatic vocals as well as growls that portray various characters within this smorgasbord of sound. Influences, mainly Symphonic, are dragged from all corners of the Metal spectrum.

As I said, hugely ambitious in nature, and at over an hour, very heavy going for the regular Hard Rock and Metal fan, but the Symphonic nature will appeal to all of those who like that style and many fans will find a lot to love about this epic. In that respect, it is exceptionally played and sung with a great production by Galanakis himself and the final mix afforded to guitarist Kratsas.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 12 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us