CD Reviews

Hydrogyn - 'Redemption'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
183   0   1   0   0   0







Spin the disc and get ready for a ride of a lifetime.

Now, here we have a very interesting and perhaps perplexing musical entity called Hydrogyn, a ten plus year old music storm that doesn't seem to be anywhere near blowing itself out.

The group's new release 'Redemption' has a few firsts as well. They are celebrating a new signing, with the High Vol Music label, and on a global scale! 'Redemption' also marks the debut of new vocalist Erica Parrott, a powerhouse singer that easily keeps up with the energy of Jeff Westlake, Chris Sammons, and John Cardilino. They're a hard-hitting Rock group that pretty much defies any other categorised guide posts (much like Halestorm). The group is aggressive, hits hard and can emerge anywhere on the music style map!

Originally founded by Jeff Westlake and Jeff Boggs, along with front-woman Julie Westlake, the group began amazing audiences all across the States with their hard Rocking originals and ballsy renditions of other Rock-hard artists. Their journey began in 2004, and with eleven recorded works under their belt, it has been an adventuresome journey and an upward climb; at times, a tumultuous one, but nonetheless, the group just kept progressing.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

2017 now sees the group opening up a new road. They're still aggressive, hard hitting and still capable of surprising music lovers the globe over. This new release is even more in-yer-face with an energy level off the scales (in both the music and vocal departments). They're a band that is not for the faint of heart, their music just burns and moves at the speed of light. Yes, it is Hard Rock-based, and yes, it is edged out with Metal, but surprisingly, one will hear a Bluesy, and believe it or not, a wisp of soulfulness in most of the songs. However, since Hydrogyn have defied category since their inception, maybe showing a bit of soul isn't so surprising. You can be the judge of that...

Although the group's first singer, Julie Westlake was very impactful, with a Bluesy growl that would send shivers down one's spine, Parrott's vocal style seems to be a tad more assertive and ballsy. On this record, the band appear to have found a renewed energy level and a confidence that allows them to explore new plateaus. Everything just seems to "pop"!

All I can add is spin the disc and get ready for a ride of a lifetime!

Bruce E.J. Atkinson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 12 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us