CD Reviews

Cellar Darling - 'This Is The Sound'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
71   0   1   0   0   0




An extremely atmospheric, emotive and beautiful album.

If there is one thing that life has taught me, it is to never judge a book by its cover, and that's certainly true of Cellar Darling. The name itself is an oxymoron and would imply the music is very dark-toned, which it isn't in the slightest, it is very free spirited, light and uplifting. At face value CD are Symphonic Metal, but there is way more to this band's song-writing and music than that term would imply. There are very strong Celtic and Folk tones and themes throughout, but they manage to present these very niche and uniquely appealing sounds in a very commercial and extremely accessible way.

Hurdy-Gurdy wielding vocalist Anna Murphy has a very smooth and beautifully angelic voice, and she has such an amazing vocal range; it's hard not to instantly fall in love with the free-spirited nature of her vocal style. On top of her wonderfully ethereal and emotive vocals, the album is also littered abundantly with great backing vocals and soaring vocal harmonies. Murphy's Hurdy-Gurdy is very influential on the tone and flow of all the songs, and their unique brand of Symphonic Metal. This (very) old-school instrument adds an extremely ethereal feel to the music, and while enhancing the Celtic tones, it never becomes inaccessible. Therefore, kudos to Murphy's playing and song-writing for making this instrument not only enjoyable, but deeply effective in capturing a listener's attention.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically, Cellar Darling are not excessively heavy, but have a good strong Metallic flavour which will push them towards fans of commercial Symphonic Metal like Within Temptation and Delain. That said though, I truly believe this album will have a far wider appeal than the confines of the genre's fan-base. Symphonic Metal fans in particular will be struck by the strength and depth of this album and singing its praises with adoration. Favourites of mine so far include the striking and infectious 'Hullaballoo', the commercial Metal of 'The Hermit' and the very emotional 'Under The Oak Tree'.

'This Is The Sound' is an extremely atmospheric, emotive and beautiful album. The songs wrap themselves around you easily, drawing you into their stories and beautiful musical landscapes. Cellar Darling are definitely a band that will surprise and captivate music fans, regardless of your personal tastes. Who would have thought the Hurdy-Gurdy could be so Metal?!

Paul Woodward

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 4 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us