CD Reviews

DGM - 'Passing Stages: Live In Milan & Atlanta'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
150   0   1   0   0   0

A band that have that little bit of something extra that makes them and their music standout from the multitude.

This issue* has been a little strange for me as a reviewer. Lots of live albums/DVD's have found their way to me, and as I'm not usually a fan of the modern live releases that seem to come out on an ad-nauseam basis, I have been surprised by how many actually came my way this time. With that being said, I have actually been very lucky with the live releases I have been given to review because I'm a huge fan of all the artist's music, none more so than Italy's incomparable Progressive Metal act DGM.

On this 2CD/DVD set, we see/hear the band filmed at the inaugural Frontiers Metal Festival in Milan (30th Oct 2016) and the ProgPower Festival in Atlanta (11th Sept 2014). What you get to witness is two shows and a couple of hours of superb music, and with the combined talents of Simone Mularoni, Mark Basile, Emanuele Casali, Andrea Arcangeli and Fabio Costantino, this band don't put a foot wrong. This is especially true of guitarist Mularoni who, it has to be said, is on stunningly good form throughout the two performances. However, before I come to the music, a word to whoever was in charge of the lighting at these shows; please, please buy some more spotlights to highlight the musicians onstage because, at times, depending on where they are stood, they disappear into the stage gloom.

With the visual aspect rant over, what about fantastic music played by these very talented musicians. The Frontiers performance kicks off with two tracks from the latest album 'The Passage' – namely 'The Secret, Part I' and '...Secret Part II' – which are jaw-dropping good with Mularoni and keyboard player Casali duelling it out for top-dog position. DGM follow this excellent opening by piling on wonderful song after wonderful song. The likes of 'The Passage', 'Animal', 'Fallen' and 'Daydreamer' are all on show to be enjoyed, as is the incredible 'Ghosts Of Insanity' where Mularoni shows that he's not a bad singer himself when he takes over the vocal parts by Tom S. Englund from the aforementioned recent studio album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The fun doesn't end there either because as one live performance finishes in Italy, the other one begins in the USA. This 2014 ProgPower set is no less exciting than the more recent show from Italy, and the nice thing about this package is that due to the time gap between the two performances, we get two totally different set-lists. The Atlanta performance features twelve more DGM Prog Metal gems to devour with 'Void', 'No Looking Back', 'In A Movie', 'Heartache', 'Chaos' and more all here for the listener/viewer to revel in. As with the first show, the sheer musical complexity and dexterity of this band's music is, once again, something to marvel at.

So, for your money, with this three disc release you get a double live album plus a DVD (or Blu-Ray), and for the most part I cannot fault these twenty-two songs in any way. Each of them is played by a band that have that little bit of something extra that makes them and their music standout from the multitude. of them is played by a band that have that little bit of something extra that makes them and their music standout from the multitude.

Ian Johnson

(* this review is from Fireworks Magazine #79)

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 12 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us