CD Reviews

Judie Tzuke - 'Peace Has Broken Out' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
266   0   1   0   0   0





Genuinely timeless, this is an astonishing release that I cannot recommend to you highly enough.

Originally titled 'Woman Overboard', this has been a body of work created through pain and sadness by Judie Tzuke, and one that offers a deep insight into her troubled life, ongoing ill health and her continuing search for personal completion. Once referred to as "alone in a field of one", Tzuke maintains her unique and beautiful musical journey with that endlessly astonishing voice and music that defies lazy categorisations with consummate ease.

Ever the eternal waif, Tzuke's lyrics haunt you as she draws you in, holds you and captivates you throughout every second of this glorious (and extremely overdue) twentieth studio album (I think it is anyway). It's a gentle, charming and intimate journey showcasing a wonderful array of styles, and if there is such a thing as "natural justice" then this release should make her massive. Of course, she should have been massive as far back as 1978, so maybe she is simply destined to remain a gloriously cult secret (as such). The wider world's loss, of course, is our precious gain.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There are so many highlights... the superbly atmospheric 'Woman Overboard' opens the album in melancholic and sombre style, all sparse piano and haunting vocals, it's sadly beautiful. 'Love Is Not Enough' is lilting and fragile, almost a distant cousin of 'Dog Rose', as Tzuke's voice soars effortlessly atop almost Flamenco-like guitars and delicate percussion. 'So' could be put amongst The Cure's finer dreamy Pop moments, the guitars particularly, while 'Enjoy The Ride' has a gently funky feel, elegant and cool, it's pure Tzuke through and through.

As soon as 'Gold' kicked in, I found myself thinking of early Dire Straits, it's stunning Soft Rock with perfect melodies and lovely vocal harmonies. The title track is almost quirky in a Kate Bush kind of way, yet fragile and bewitching as well. 'Blue Chair' and 'Hurt In Your Heart' are pure classic Judie Tzuke that could easily have come from her late seventies period.

Genuinely timeless, this is an astonishing release that I cannot recommend to you highly enough! You need this!

Chris O'Connor

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 12 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us