CD Reviews

Kickin Valentina - 'Imaginary Creatures' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
502   0   1   0   0   0

As far as 'Imaginary Creatures' goes, it proves Kickin Valentina are doing everything right.

Every now and then, a new album from a band you're unfamiliar with arrives for review that is so goddamn good it makes you immediately investigate their entire back catalogue to see what you've missed – luckily for me on this occasion, 'Imaginary Creatures' is actually the second release from Atlanta quartet Kickin Valentina following 2015's 'Super Atomic' debut.

What's so good about this album? Simply put, it's good ol' kick-ass, riff-driven, punchy, Sleazy Rock 'n' Roll – nothing that hasn't been heard before but it's entertaining as hell so that simply doesn't matter. Imagine Buckcherry jamming with 'Appetite For Destruction' era Guns 'N' Roses, it's strewn with the kind of melodies and air-guitar-inducing riffs that also reminds me of The Scream's excellent debut (still one of my all-time favourite albums). Front-man Joe Edwards' gritty vocal style is just perfect for this kind of music, guitarist Heber Pampillon complements this by keeping his solos just the right side of flashy, while the tight-ass rhythm section of bassist Chris Taylor and drummer Jimmy Berdine drives the album along superbly.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

You can stomp along and punch the air to it, but most importantly you can also sing along as well, the likes of 'Eyes', 'Turns Me On' and the rollicking 'Street' are impressive enough, but 'Devil's Hand', 'Eat 'N' Run' and the brilliant 'Roll Ya One' just about steal the show for injecting some great melodies into the choruses. I can't help but think of Jackyl when I hear the raucous 'Heartbreak', while Tyketto guitarist Chris Green lends his considerable talents to an immensely fun cover of Elvis Presley's 'Burning Love'. The pace is slowed only momentarily for the part acoustic/part electric 'Crazy' – I hesitate to refer to it as a "ballad" thanks to the F-bombs littered throughout the lyrics, but it's a welcome addition to the album nevertheless.

The band have previously supported the diverse likes of Queensrÿche, Skid Row, Doro, Fozzy and LA Guns, they've won the GA Music Awards for Rock Band Of The Year and Video Of The Year, and their song 'Get Ready' is used by the Jacksonville Axemen Rugby Team. As far as 'Imaginary Creatures' goes, it proves Kickin Valentina are doing everything right.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 4 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us