Eden's Curse - 'Eden's Curse - Revisited' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 20, 2018    
0.0 (0)
5948   0   1   0   0   0




A tenth anniversary re-recording of the band's eponymous debut.

We like a bit of Eden's Curse at Fireworks & Rocktopia. Indeed, how could a band that channels elements of the Melodic Metal of Queensrÿche, Dokken and Winger, who blend in Pink Cream 69 and Edguy influences, sprinkle occasional hints of Dio on the top, and emerge with its own identity not score big with our knowledgeable and discerning scribes? Ian Johnson got more hot and bothered than he'd been "in many a moon" when he reviewed 2011's 'Trinity', Phil Ashcroft described 2013's 'Symphony Of Sin' as the band's "most cohesive and confident" effort yet, while Mark Donnelly recommended excommunication for anyone who failed to check out 2016's 'Cardinal'.

However, what we have here is an altogether different proposition – namely a tenth anniversary re-recording of the band's eponymous debut. The obvious question is why an album only ten years young requires such treatment, especially when you consider that, song-writing aside, it's as much trouble to completely re-record an old album as it is to record a new one? The re-recording, it seems, was motivated by the clamour from fans to hear the early tracks with current vocalist Nikola Mijić. Only two of the current band – founder, bassist and chief song-writer Paul Logue and guitarist Thorsten Köehne – played on the 2007 original, with Mijić joining for '...Sin', and drummer John Clelland and keyboardist Chrism picking up the reigns more recently.

What marked out Eden's Curse at the time of the original recording was their status as a multi-national, studio-based internet project who didn't actually meet until the album photo shoot. The 2017 version of the band is still multi-national, but they have, of course, metamorphosed into a "proper" band – a fully-functioning live and studio outfit. To that extent, one can understand both the fans' demands to capture the band as it is now and the desire of the current line-up to make the early songs their own.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Is it a strong enough album to merit re-recording? It's a moot point, but, in the circumstances, it probably is. Eden's Curse blend the drama of epic-feeling tracks like 'Judgement Day' and 'Fallen King' with the strong melodies of 'Eyes Of The World' and 'After The Love Is Gone', the rough and tumble of 'Fly Away' and the chant-a-long bonhomie of 'What Are You Waiting For'. It's a very decent album! Produced by Logue, the re-recorded version is smoother, more cohesive (to pinch a word from Phil – many thanks!), and a little more glitzy. It takes me right back to the heyday of Hair Metal and demonstrates, perhaps, Mijić's strength as an all-round vocalist. It also, and I guess this is the point, has a very strong "band feel". That said, it was a very decent album in its original Dennis Ward-produced form too. The original is perhaps a bit rougher around the edges and, occasionally, a touch more abrasive, but there will undoubtedly be those who prefer it. You "pays your money, you takes your choice".

The new version comes complete with a nineteen track, hundred minute "bootleg" DVD video recording of the band's 2014 performance at the Classic Grand in Glasgow; the audio of which (mixed and mastered, ironically enough, by Ward) features on the 2015 live album 'Live With The Curse' – not a bad bonus at all!

Michael Anthony

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site