CD Reviews

Vandroya - 'Beyond The Human Mind'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 27, 2018    
0.0 (0)
138   0   1   0   0   0




A powerful, melodic beast of an album.

Progressive Power Rock from Brazil is the name of the game here, with Vandroya coming back for a second bite of the cherry a few years after their well-received debut 'One'. Female-Fronted and full of fret-work, Vandroya have a target audience that likes wearing black and writing poetry, so let's see if they can impress a grumpy old man.

So many bands like this tend to kick off an album with fifty seconds or so of dullness, so it's nice to hear a smart, guitar-laden instrumental that does a better job setting the mood. 'The Path To The Endless Fall' (which makes no sense) is the first main track and it's six minutes of dramatic guitar-dominated fun, and vocalist Daisa Munhoz shows a nice range that puts her pretty much in the middle of all the other dramatic Female-Fronted bands.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

She doesn't give me tingles like, say, Floor Jansen, but she does a good job. It's not until the fifth track that they slow down at all, and it turns out that they can do a good power ballad as well as anyone, with 'Last Breath' showing real depth and a great performance from Munhoz. A second ballad, the piano-led 'If I Forgive Myself', comes a bit later on, but whilst nice enough, it lacks the emotion and power of its predecessor. The album closes with the eleven-minute title track, and as with any lengthy piece, it goes through all the emotions and tempos, in turns a bit dull and tremendously exciting. Overall I like it, especially the lengthy instrumental section.

'Beyond The Human Mind' is a very good album and has deservedly been highly praised in the press since release. I love the fact that most of the tracks are nicely in-your-face and full of sparks, containing some superb guitar from Marco Lambert and Rodolfo Pagotto. If you like a bit of Female-Fronted Power Metal, or if you just like a powerful, melodic beast of an album, this could be for you.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us