CD Reviews

C-Sides - 'We Are Now'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
63   0   1   0   0   0






It does say on the album sleeve "Recorded at the graveside", and I believe that.

C Sides are a Welsh Prog Rock act, and that's not something you hear every day is it? The group incorporates two ex-members of established Prog band Magenta (Martin Rosser and Allan Mason-Jones) with 'We Are Now' being their second album; the first, 'Devitrification', was released in 2011. This is the first time I had comes across them and therefore I didn't know what to expect, but from what I had read, I thought this would be an album of melodious songs with a sound ranging from big and opulent to ambient. Hmmm...

There are some long tracks on here, and that is something that's always encouraging to a Prog fan, but opening track 'Out Of The Water' is a little flat and unexciting, with harmony vocals that need some work. 'Black Road River' is a song that stays on one level, with a "middle 8" that goes on for ever, while 'Deck Chair City' meanders for over six minutes with no dynamics; to be honest I started to drop off. The tempo raises a bit after that, but then it sounded like something I had heard before. Listening to 'Truth Through Clowns' it became obvious to me that vocalist Allen McCarthy likes to sing through a narrow drainpipe crossed with a megaphone, and he's determined that you know there's no way out of this.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Rosser opens up on guitar a little in 'Rock And A Hard Place' which is better, but the drainpipe is still there. It's not all bad though, as 'Living Without Wires' gives us a bit of a foot-tapping moment, and 'We Are Now', which is the longest track on here (by just two seconds!), has a quirky little guitar riff at the start.
Overall, what I was expecting I didn't really get. Certain motifs in the music go on for far too long, getting into a bit of a groove and staying there, and you have to work on the sound equaliser-wise, as the guitar is too low in the mix unless you do. It does say on the album sleeve "Recorded at the graveside", and I believe that.

Andy Brailsford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us