CD Reviews

Karfagen - 'Spektra'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
90   0   1   0   0   0







It's all perfectly pleasant but not something I can imagine returning to regularly.

Karfagen is essentially one of the many vehicles (Sunchild, Hoggwash, Akko) for Ukrainian keyboard wizard/composer Antony Kalugin. He formed the band in his very early teens and kept the name when they fell out sometime after their debut album in 1998.

'Spektra' is the eighth album under this name and it treads a similar path to those that have gone before, rooted in late seventies and early eighties Prog Rock but with Classical influences and even New Romantic style Pop inflections.

Given the style of compositions and it being an almost entirely instrumental album, there's a feeling that it has a background music quality rather than being something you'd put on and listen to intently.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Consisting of sixteen tracks split into three phases, it comes across as if it might be a film soundtrack. The title track put me in mind of Rick Wakeman, but not his early masterworks, and despite there being three drummers credited, they sound programmed on the opening number. For the first of many times across the album, the wonderful guitar work of Max Velychko makes its presence known and these interventions represent the high points of the album.

'Troy' has a Steve Hackett feel to it with its acoustic guitar theme, whereas 'Transaleatorica II' is rather eclectic and features a Mellotron (?) sound that will be very familiar to fans of early Spock's Beard alongside a harpsichord not unlike that used by the aforementioned Wakeman. 'Terra Incognita' features a Gregorian style vocal and the following 'Celebration' gets quite heavy and relies on Velychko's guitar and a gritty Hammond Organ.

As we reach Phase Two ('Olympia') there's the introduction of accordion into the mix, and as I'm not a fan of this particular instrument, this rather colours my judgement. 'Homonymous (Part 2)' is reminiscent of Anthony Phillips and Hackett with its acoustic guitar motif; it's short but very sweet with the understated synths bringing Genesis to mind circa 'Wind & Wuthering'. 'Dios Pyros' has more accordion while the following 'Natural Charm' is thankfully a delightful piano piece initially before it picks up the pace and is supplemented by some more fine guitar soloing. It alternates between calm and heavy sections and is my album highlight. The album closes with a live-in-studio number, 'Juggler & The Cloud' which includes more lovely piano.

It's all perfectly pleasant but not something I can imagine returning to regularly.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us